RISE OF THE PLANET OF THE APES-Movie Review

Posted on March 25, 2012

1


Rise of the Planet of the Apes

This is one of the most hyped films of the year, so I decided to see for myself what I thought. I thought that a slower plot was needed, a better ending, and less people dying.

I personally think that Andy Serkis delivered an “OK” performance as Casear, while everyone said he should get an Oscar for it, but the Academy hates motion capture, so forget about it. I feel that it is hard to express your emotions through motion capture technology, when others are doing the animating for you, and this is only my third motion capture movie (along with The Polar Express and The Adventures of Tintin) and the Visual Effects were amazing, just not the motion capture performances.

Rise of the Planet of the ApesThe plot is about Dr. Will Rodman (James Franco)discovering a new drug to help apes act like humans, and to cure human sickness. They test it on a baby ape (Caesar, played by Andy Serkis)and Caesar does amazing things and becomes very smart. Then, after an accident, Casear realizes how horrible the real world is, and leads a group of apes to take it over, even having a huge battle on the Golden Gate Bridge.

The film felt like it had a rushed plot, and could’ve been much longer, and more in-depth on the characters.Everyone is saying that it is amazing, but I am saying it wasn’t as good as Thor, which despite a good movie, comes low on my (Top 10 Movies of 2011) ranking.

On a 1 to 10 rating, I would give this movie a: 7.5

Rise of the Planet of the Apes(It needs a slower plot, less hype and more James Franco, despite that Casear was very entertaining, but what are people talking about? Andy Serkis shouldn’t be hanging around award shows and getting buzz for (THIS) performance: good, decent, but not Oscar worthy for a second.

Posted in: Movie Reviews