SUPER 8-Movie Review

Posted on March 7, 2012

1


Super 8

This film I saw with my Dad and I fell in love with it. This film was brilliantly acted by Joel Courtney, Elle Fanning and Riley Griffiths and the film felt like a horror and an adventure at the same time.

The film stars Joel Courtney as a kid who loses his mother, and decides to help his friend Charles (Riley Griffiths) finish his movie he’s making for a film festival. Charles, Joel Courtney’s character and their friends (Carrie, Preston, Alice and one other kid I can’t recall the name of) witness a HUGE train crash. Strange things happen in the town, and things get nasty. People, dogs and everyone starts to go missing.

What I liked about this film was that it really gave a good sense of friendship in this dangerous time for a town, as well as brilliant Visual Effects.

My one downside is that we should’ve seen more of the characters’ families, especially Charles’s. I think that the guy who played Carrie could’ve done a better performance, but besides that I thought that it was great.

What I liked about it is that it reminded me of my friend in California (where I used to live) just making a movie. That is one of our favorite pastimes. (You know who you are!)

I thought there also could’ve been more of a climax, and more of a relationship between Joe and Alice. I also thought that it felt a bit too (military-ish).

Besides that, very good film.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I would give this film an 8.5. Very good film. VERY GOOD. Super 8

Posted in: Movie Reviews